Panaji: November 27, 2018 .. The state festival “Tripurari Poornima”  celebrated  on the bank of river Valvanti at Vitthalapur Sankhali. The festival was organized by Directorate of Art and Culture, in association with Department of Tourism, Goa Tourism Development Corporation, Department of Information and  Publicity and Deepawali Utsav Samiti, Vithalapur.

The main feature of the festival is a spectacular boat sailing competition which is held in the basin of river Valvanti. Total 32 boats designed by the participants hailed from different parts of the state, participated in the state level boat sailing competition sponsored by the Directorate of Art and Culture. More than ten thousand spectators witnessed this grand and unique traditional festival.

Speaker of Goa Legislature Assembly, Dr. Pramod Sawant,  Minister for Ayush (IC)Shri Sripad Naik, Minister for Art and Culture, Shri Govind Gawde, M.P.( Rajya Sabha) Shri Vinay Tendulkar, Leader of Opposition Shri Pratapsingh Rane, President of Shri Vitthal temple, Sarpanch of Karapur Sarvan and officials of various departments were present on the occasion to witness the festival.

Shri Milind Gunaji popular film actor also attended the festival as a special invitee.

The Boat competition was judged by Shri Mahendra Chodankar, Shri Sandeep Govekar and Shri Kedar Dhondu the lecturers from Goa College of Fine Art, Panaji.

The final results of the competition has been declared by the Directorate of Art and Culture. Venture Bros Majikwada Paryem 1st Prize Rs.35,000/-,   Kalyugi Group Vithalapur, Sankhali 2nd Prize Rs.30,000/-,  Navyuvak Sangathana Savoi Verem 3rd Prize Rs.25,000/-,   N C Boys Vithalapur, Sankhali 4th Prize Rs.20,000/-,    Team 5 (Ravan Raj) Rane Wada, Parye 5th Prize Rs.15000/-.

Consolation prizes of Rs.8000/- each to  S.T.K.P. Boys Vithalapur, Sankhali,  Glowing Star Parye Belwada, Paryem,  Talkhambeshwar Boys Tamidgiwada, Payem, 10 Lalbag Royal Lalbag, Vithalapur,  Friends Yuva Manch Pratapnagar, Harvalem.

Honorarium of Rs. 5000/- each will be given to Tree Pin Boys Tamidgiwada, Paryem, Vaghreshwar Boys Warchawada, Bicholim, Mahayogi Narayannagar, Honda, Bhumika Boys Sawant Wada, Parye, Devil Vithalapur, Sankhali, Jai Bhavani Rane Wada, Parye, Chandreshwar Boys Majikwada, Paryem, Brother Forever Khandola, Marcel, Taleshwar Yuvak Sangh Majikwada, Paryem, Third Eye Sawant Wada, Amona.

All the remaining participants will be given Rs.2000/- each for participating in the competition.

The date and venue of the prize distribution ceremony of the competition will be informed later.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge