Margao:  April 21, 2019 …The District Magistrate and District Election Officer, South Goa District, Shri Ajit Roy, IAS  have ordered/restricted the unauthorised assembly of persons, movement of vehicles, supply of vehicles to ensure free and fair manner and to maintain public peace, order and tranquillity in the conduct of the General Election  and  Bye- Election from 18.00  hours of  21/04/2019  to 21.00 hours of  23/04/2019   in all 21 Assembly Constituencies under the jurisdiction of South Goa District  Election Office, South Goa District.

The assembly of five or more persons (including contesting candidates & workers) will be deemed as Unauthorized Assembly u/s. 141 of the Indian Penal Code and will be prohibited to avoid any procession or rally under the garb of house to house visits or corner meetings and to prevent any nuisance and law and order problems.

The vehicles permitted to all Contesting Candidates by the Returning Officer and Asst. Returning Officers for campaigning shall not ply on roads to avoid any distribution of money or gifts or liquor and to prevent any nuisance and law and order problems except vehicles authorized by the Returning Officer on the day of Poll.

Similarly, all private vehicles shall be checked in dignified manner to avoid their misuse for distribution of money or gifts or liquor and for causing any nuisance also to avoid any harassment to private persons.

So also, no liquor shops, hotels, restaurants, clubs and other establishments selling/serving liquor, should be permitted to sell/serve liquor to anyone whosoever, on the aforesaid days.  The Non-proprietary clubs, star hotels, restaurants etc. and hotels run by anyone even if they are issued different categories of licenses for possession and supply of liquor are also not permitted to serve liquor on these days.

The above order does not apply to Officers authorized on Election Duty by the District Election Officer, South Goa District or the State Government including the Polling Officials, Magistrates, Police Officials and Government Staff.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge