Panaji, November 28, 2018 … ‘Donbass’ directed by Sergie Lonznitsa bagged the prestigious Golden Peacock Award at the 49th International Film Festival of India (IIFI 2018).

The Closing Ceremony of the 49th International Film Festival of India (IFFI) was held at the Dr. Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Indoor stadium, Taleigao, today. The function was graced by Governor of Goa, Smt. Mridula Sinha, Governor of Punjab, and Shri. V.P. Singh Badnore, Minister of Tourism (IC), Shri K.J. Alphons, Minister for Ayush (IC), Shri Shripad Naik, Minister of Town and Country Planning, Shri Vijai Sardesai, Minister for Power, Shri Nilesh Cabral, Minister for Tourism, Shri Manohar Ajgaonkar, Shri. Dharmendra Sharma, IAS, CEO Entertainment Society of Goa, Shri Amey Abhyankar IAS, eminent jury members, and film personalities among others.

Minister for Town and Country Planning, Shri Vijai Sardesai, while speaking on the occasion said that they can be no better place to host IFFI than Goa. He said that IFFI has enriched the Goan filmmaking talent. IFFI’s journey in Goa began with the vision of the Chief Minister, Shri. Manohar Parrikar.  Shri Sardesai also Paid homage to Italian director, Bernardo Bertolucci, who passed away recently.

Earlier, the Secretary, Information and Broadcasting, Shri Amit Khare, IAS, welcomed the gathering. In his address, he said that the authorities will try to enhance facilities at IFFI for the forthcoming 50th IFFI next year.

Shri. Salim Khan was honored with a Special IFFI Award for Lifetime Contribution to the cinema. The award was received on his behalf by his son Shri. Arbaaz Khan. The ICFT UNESCO Gandhi Award was bagged by ‘Walking with the Wind directed by Pravin Morchlle.  Centenary Award of Best Debut Film of a Director was awarded to ‘Respoto’ by Alberto Monteras II while Special Jury Award was presented to German film ‘Aga’. A Special Mention Award was given to films – ‘Volcano’ and ‘To let’.

The Silver Peacock for Best Actor (Female) was bagged by Ms. Anastasia Pustov (When the tress falls) while Shri. Chembon Vinod (Ee Maa Yove) received the Silver Peacock in the Best Actor (male) category. Shri. Lijo Jose Pellisery received the Silver Peacock for Best Director for his movie ‘Ee Maa Yove’.

          Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting, via a video recording, conveyed his best wishes to the IFFI participants and also invited everyone to be a part of 50th IFFI 2019.

 The closing ceremony was followed by the screening of the movie ‘Sealed Lips’ at Kala Academy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge