Panaji, April 11:::: Salgaocar FC reigned supreme in Mumbai, when they won the finals in the Bangali Sangha Ambarnath Tournament played in Ambarnath.

The Green Brigade played three matches in the tournament. The opening was against Abbas Union FC, Hyderabad who had two foreigners to strengthen their squad, but that did not bother Salgaocar FC when they took the field. Aslon Oliviera, Brian Masacarenhas and Suraj Hadkonkar scored for Salgaocars who won 3-0, which set the momentum for the their Semi Finals.

Salgaocar FC met Mumbai FC in the semi-finals which ended in a draw, and the penalty shootouts were introduced to declare the winner. Umesh Harijan, Suraj Hadkonkar, Clencio Pinto and Jovel Martins took responsibility for the kicks and made no mistakes in converting. Goalkeeper Bruno Colaco stood tall in between the frames denying two goals with great saves to put Salgaocar FC through to the finals beating Mumbai FC 4-1.

The Finals turned out to be a Goan Derby between the Goan Footballing Power Houses Salgaocar FC versus Dempo SC. The Greens dominated majority part of the match with beautiful game of play. Umesh Harijan and Pedro Gonsalves marshalled the mid-field with good combination play. The first half was played goalless. The second half was full excitement which saw goals and flashes of red cards. It was Pedro Gonsalves who opened the scoring in the finals with a sublime finish, leaving rivals keeper with no chance. It was late in the 80th minute when SFC goalkeeper Bruno Colaco brought down a Dempo man inside the box, the referee pointed to the spot and much to the surprise of everyone Bruno saw red. Beevan D’Mello stepped up to convert the chance and put Dempo on equal terms. Not long after the celebrations, Clencio Pinto of Salgaocars was brought down in the box and Pedro once again added his name to the score sheet making it 2-1. Pedro completed his hattrick in great style as he placed his shot well out from 25-30 yards which settled the game. Nixon Castanha was sent off for Dempo with a rash tackle. The Finals ended with a 3-1 victory in favour of the current Goan Champions Salgaocar FC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge