Panaji; Sept, 25, 2014 … The Directorate of Art & Culture will honour 15 eminent personalities in the field of Art & Culture by conferring the prestigious Goa State Cultural Award for their contribution and achievements in their respective art forms like Music, Drama/Tiatra, Folk Art, Bhajan, Kirtan, Craft, Literature, Painting etc. The awards are for the year 2013-14. These awardees have set an example to the youth of Goa and art encouraging them by dedicating their life for promotion and preservation of Art & Culture of the State.

The recipients are Shri Prabhakar Vithal Gaonkar, Theatre (Drama),           Shri Balwant Baburao Shirgaonkar, Theatre (Drama), Smt Antonette Mendes, Theatre (Drama), Smt. Josefina Dias, Theatre (Tiatr), Shri Lourenco Fernendes Theatre (Tiatr), Shri N. Shivdas. Literature, Fr. Vasco Rego, Literature, Smt. Jess Fernandes, Literature, Smt Maria Aurora Couto, Literature,  Shri Vithal Khandolkar,  Music, Shri Chandrakant Vernekar, Music, Shri Narayan Arjun Haldankar, Bhajan, Shri Ajit Painginkar, Folk Art, Shri Mahendra Chodankar, Fine Art, Shri Shivanand Khedekar, Fine Art. 

The awards comprises of a cash purse of Rs. 50,000/- each, a certificate, shrifal, Nataraj Replica and shawl.

Government also honors one best cultural Institution every year in the field of Art & Cultural and for the year 2012-13 the award will be conferred on Shree Naguesh Mahalaxmi Prasadik Natyasamaj, Ponda.  The award consists of a Memento and Cash purse of Rs.1.00 Lakh.

The Goa State Cultural Awards for Individuals and best Cultural Institution will be presented to the awardees at a special function to be organized by the Department shortly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge