Goan Reporter News: Nation always witnessed power of voters in democracy: P. S. Sreedharan Pillai


Governor of Goa, Shri. P. S. Sreedharan Pillai appreciating efficiency and integrity of the Election Commission of India said that the crux of democracy lies in the free and fair election process of the country. The nation has always witnessed the power of voters in the democratic set up wherein people have shaken the political powers and protected its freedom.

 Governor Shri. Pillai was speaking on the occasion of 14th National Voter Day Programme organised by Office of the Chief Electoral Officer in association with District Election Officer, South Goa held at Ravindra Bhavan, Margao today.

While stressing upon the power of voters, Governor recalled the political situation during 1971 till 1977 in the country and described how people enjoying their right to vote brought down the ruling Government. Praising the Indian Constitution Shri.Pillai expressed that Constitutions of neighbouring countries have shattered during the course of time but Indian Constitution has been still standing tall and upholding its democratic values.
Although the country has diverse cultures and languages, it has blended with unity of people. Election Commission is tirelessly working towards promoting the integrity and sovereignty of the nation. Goa has witnessed a free and fair process of Election and it is very impressive, Governor added.

Governor congratulated new voters and appealed to young voters to enjoy their right in the elections and contribute in keeping the democracy stronger and vibrant.

Principal Secretary, Finance Dr. V. Candavelou lauded the Election Commission of India for conducting free and fair elections and said that the commission has simplified the elections procedure by various methods.

On the occasion various Officers were felicitated for their dedicated service in the election process. Shri. Deepak Vaingankar, Ms. Egna Cleetus, IAS was felicitated as best Election Registration Officer. Smt. Sanjivani Satardekar, Shri. Rajesh Sakhalkar were felicitated as best AEROs, Smt. Deepali Naik was felicitated for best performing SVEEP Nodal Officer, Smt. Aisha Vaingankar, Smt. Ashweta Redkar and Smt.Succorina Falcao were awarded with special recognition for their dedicated service during elections. Shri. Shubham Sadashiv Bhartu, and Shri. Santosh Gaonkar were felicitated as best dedicated AEROs. Shri. Sachin Prabhu, Smt. Nita Naik, Shri. Charles Reddie Rodrigues, Smt. Lavina Dsouza were felicitated as best BLO.

Shri. Videsh Raut and Ms. Sanghavi Sawant Dessai winners of  Eco-friendly Ganesh Chaturthi on Election theme competition held by CEO,  Goa received first and second prize respectively. Shri. Rajesh Malgaonkar was felicitated as a Social media influencer. New voters and others were felicitated on the occasion.

State Election Commissioner Shri.W.V. Ramanamurthy, IAS (Retd) was also present on the occasion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge