August 31, 2014Smt. Mridula Sinha was sworn in as the Governor of Goa at a simple ceremony held at Durbar Hall of the Raj Bhavan, Donapaula, today Morning.

 Chief Justice of Bombay High Court  Justice Mohit Shantilal Shah administered the oath of office to her. Chief Minister Shri Manohar Parrikar was present on the dais.

 Chief Secretary Shri B. Vijayan  read out the warrant of appointment issued by the President of India, Shri Pranab Mukerjee.

Besides Chief Minister, the swearing in ceremony was attended by Union Minister of State for Tourism (Independent Charge) Shri Shripad Naik, Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly Shri Rajendra Arlekar, Deputy Chief Minister Shri Francis D’ Souza, Cabinet Ministers Shri Laximikant Parsekar, Shri Ramkrishna alias Sudin Dhavlikar, Shri Mahadeo Naik, Shri Dilip Parulekar Shri Pandurang alias Deepak Dhavlikar Smt. Alina Saldanha, Deputy Speaker Shri Anant Shet, Commissioner for NRI Affairs Dr. Wilfred de Mesquita, MP South Goa Shri Narendra Savoikar, MLA’s Shri Rohan Khaunte, Shri Michael Lobo, former Chief Minister Smt. Shashikala Kakodkar, Director General of Police Shri T. N. Mohan, Flag Officer Goa Area, Rear Admiral B. S. Parihar,  Station Commandant, 2 Signals Training Centre, Goa. Shri Harvijay Singh,  Secretaries to Government, functionaries of political parties and others attended the swearing in ceremony.

A Guard of Honour by the police contingent headed by Police inspector Shri Edwin  Colaco followed the swearing in ceremony.

Born on 27 November 1942, Smt. Sinha  is a famous writer of Hindi Literature and former Chairperson of Central Social Welfare Board (CSWB), Ministry of Human Resource Development. She is also the former President of Bharatiya Janata Party Mahila Morcha. Member National Executive, BJP, Co-Convenor Women cell, AIBJP. She has actively participated in Samagra Kranti led by Jay Prakash Narayan.

Smt. Sinha is daughter of Late Chhabile Singh and was born in the village Chhapra of Muzaffarpur District, now in Bihar. After taking post graduation degree in Psychology, she completed her B.Ed. degree. She started her life as a college lecturer at Dr. S. K. Sinha Women’s College, Motihari, Bihar and later as Principal of Bharatiya Shishu mandir, Muzzaffarpur, Bihar. After marriage with Dr Ram Kripal Sinha, who was earlier a college lecturer and later became a Cabinet Minister in Bihar State Government. 

She has written more than 46 books in various disciplines. Her Literary contribution include Jyon Mehandi ko Rang (Novel) a short film on Doordarshan was made based on the same, Nayi Devyani (Novel), Gharwaas (Novel), Sita Puni boli (Novel), Savitri, Atishya and many more. She has written a Biography titled Rajpath se Lokpath on Smt. Rajmata Scindhiya. Her story collections include Sakshatkar, Ek Diye Ki Diwali, Sparsh kit Taseer, Apna Jeevan etc. He essay collection include Aine ke saamne, Maanvi ke Naate, Purana Ke Bacce, Bihar Ki Lok Kathaye for children. She contributes regular columns in various national and regional Hindi newspapers, magazines and periodicals. Short films and features based on her authored  work are Dattak (NFDC), Udhar ka Sooraj(Doordarshan), Jyo Mejhindi Ko Rang (Doordarshan serial), Khel Khel Main(Doordarshan telefilm).

 She is recipient of  several Awards and accolades  at the National and Internatinal Literary Conferences such as Sahitya Bhushan Samman, Uttar Pradesh  Hindi Sansthan,Rashtriya , Rashtriya Shikhar Samman, Pt. Deen dayal Upadhyaya samman, Utta Pradesh Hindi Sansthan(2001),Kalpatru Samman, Delhi (1989), Ojaswini Shikar Samman, Sahitya Shri Samman. Shei was also Honoured by Vishwantantra Hindi Sammiti, New York (1999). 21 scholars have been awarded PhD degrees for their thesis based on her literary works.

Smt. Sinha has been founder and editor of magazines, “Panchva Stamba” (The fifth pillar). She has been President of Raj Mata Vijaya Raje Scindia Smriti Nyas, Delhi, Vice President, Akhil Bharatiya Sahitya Parishad. She has participated in more than 500 programmes of All India Radio and Doordarshan on Literary, Political and social issues.

 Smt. Sinha is the President of Surya Sansthan NOIDA.

 Smt. Sinha was member on Rajbhasha Samiti, Ministryof Home Affairs, Member, hindi Salahakar Samiti, Ministry of Steel, Member, Delhi Women Commission, Delhi Government, Member, Railway Hindi Salahakar Samiti, Ministry of Railways.

 Smt. Sinha has widely travelled to attend Foreign Seminars, paper presentations and Conferences (International). She has undertaken tours of Germany, Manila, New York for various conferences and paper presentations. She has also participate in Vishwa Hindi Sammelan in England, Surinam, South Africa, Mauritius over a period of many years. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge