Sporting Clube de Goa Eves crowned All-Goa Hockey Champions


18-feb-2013 … Felicity Lopes netted the winner as Sporting Clube de Goa Eves were crowned Hockey champions after overcoming Sky Walkers 2-1 in the finals of the Senior Women’s Hockey Championship, at Guirim ground on Friday.

Karuna kankonkar scored after just 33 seconds to give Sporting Goa Eves a 1-0 lead at half time. Shortly after the break, Andreya Sequeira equalized for Sky Walkers to set up a frantic ending. It was Sporting Goa who prevailed when Felicity found the winner late on.

 Sporting Goa Eves defeated stars of Sattari 3-0, with goals from Maheshweri Haldankar, Shriya Raikar and Felicity Lopes recently to finish top of the league table with 10 points which allowed them to qualify for the final against second placed Sky Walkers who completed their league engagements with 7 points.

In the North Goa senior Men’s Hockey final, Sporting Clube de Goa were crowned North Goa champions after defeating Bastora 5-2 via the tie breaker. The match was tied 1-1 at full time.

Sunny Gaonkar scored for Sporting Goa, while Pankaj Karapurkar netted for Bastora. In the tie-breaker, Anthony Vaz, Akash Vazarkar, Robert Coelho and John Fernandes converted for the Flaming Oranje, while Manoj Pednekar scored for Bastora.

In the semi finals, Sporting Goa beat Caranzalem 3-1 with goals from Neville Rodrigues, Praful Maghaia and Akash Vazarkar. Mozan sheikh scored a consolation goal for Caranzalem.

Sporting Goa men will next face SAI Guddi in the semi finals of the All Goa championship.