Panaji, December 18, 2012 …. The Goa State will celebrate 51st anniversary of its liberation from colonial rule on December 19, 2012.  The main function will be held at Parade Ground, Campal, Panaji where the Chief Minister Shri Manohar Parrikar will unfurl the national tri colour at 9.15 a.m., review  the parade, take the salute and later address the people of Goa.  He will also present awards to those who have excelled in different sectors on the occasion.

The function will be attended by Speaker Shri Rajendra Arlekar, Cabinet Ministers, Leader of the opposition Shri Pratapsingh Rane, Dy. Speaker Shri Anant Shet,  MP’s, MLA’s, Judges of High Court, Ld. Advocate General and other dignitaries.

On his arrival at the venue of the function the Chief Minister will be received by Minister for Tourism Shri Dilip Parulekar, Chief Secretary Shri B. Vijayan and Director General of Police.

To commemorate the Liberation Day Raj Bhavan, Dona Paula, Old Secretariat, Panaji, New Secretariat, Porvorim and Directorate of Accounts building, Panaji will be illuminated.  Mass P.T. Drill and singing of National Anthem by School children will be held.

To mark the occasion several programmes have also been planned throughout the day.  On Liberation Day at 9.15 a.m.,  the flag hosting ceremony at Margao will be performed by Minister for Labour Shri Avertano Furtado.

At Ponda, Minister for P.W.D. Shri Sudin Dhavalikar will unfurl the national flag.

Similarly, flag hoisting ceremonies will be performed by

Dy. Chief Minister Shri Francis D’Souza at Mapusa,

Minister for Power Shri Milind Naik at Vasco,

Shri Subhash Faldessai, MLA at Sanguem,

Minister for Sports Shri Ramesh Tawadkar at Canacona,

Minister for Health Shri Laxmikant Parsekar at Pernem,

Dy. Speaker Shri Anant Shet at Valpoi,

Shri Nilesh Cabral, MLA at Quepem,

Dr. Pramod Sawant, MLA at Bicholim

Shri Ganesh Gaonkar, MLA, at Dharbandora.