Panaji: 5th November, 2017 … Taking a step forward towards simplification and rationalisation of GST tax structure and to bring changes in GST Law and Rules, the Government has constituted an Advisory Group to Law Review Committee of GST Council. Six prominent persons of different  fields including Mr Praveen Khandelwal, Secretary General of Confederation of All India Traders (CAIT) has been appointed as members of the Group. Mr Gautam Ray Retired Chief Commissioner Central Board of Direct Taxes has been named as the Convenor. The Committee has been constituted with approval of Union Finance Minister Mr Arun Jaitley.                                                  

Other members of the group are Mr Araghya Sen Gupta, Research Director, Centre for Legal Policy, Mr Vinod Jain, CA, Mr Anuj Sahai, CEO of Federation of Indian Exporters Organisation, Mr Om Prakash Mittal, President Laghu Udyog Bharti.                                     

The Group shall discus possible changes in GST Law and its Rules  and will submit its recommendations to Law Review Committee by 30th November and if need be shall have joint meeting with Law Review Committee.

The first meeting of the Group has been convened on 8th November to discuss in depth the  GST Law and Rules and what amendments can be done to make GST a easy compliance law by removing its complex nature- said Mr Praveen Khandelwal. The formation of the Group is first concrete step of the Government to ensure participatory governance . While welcoming the initiative Mr Khandelwal urged Union Finance Minister to accord participation of Trade Representatives in GST Council to have more participatory role of stakeholders. It is noted that during VAT regime, a joint Committee with Chairman of Empowered Committee of State Finance Ministers and Trade representative did exist for ensuring cohesive approach


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge