Panaji: June 18, 2016 …..Minister for Railways Shri Suresh Prabhu has said that, 11 new stations have been sanctioned on Konkan Railway in phase I. Kharepatan has been selected as the first station to be taken up as part of phase -1. It will benefit 70 villages from 3 talukas of Sindhudurga district and people will have to travel lesser distance to board passenger trains to Mumbai he added.

          Shri Prabhu was speaking after laying foundation stone for proposed new Kharepatan railway crossing by remote. Inaugural function via video conferencing held at Seminar Hall, Secretariat, Porvorim today. The function was organised by Konkan Railway Corporation.

          The total cost of the project is approx Rs. 15 crores.

          Chief Minister Shri Laxmikant Parsekar, Deputy Chief Minister Shri Francis D’ Souza, Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly Shri Anant Shet and Minister for RDA Smt. Alina Saldanha and Shri Sidharth Cuncolienkar, MLA graced the occasion.

          Speaking further Shri Prabhu said, Konkan Railway will be processing another 10 stations in phase – II. Meanwhile, patch doubling from Roha to Veer has already been sanctioned and work will start very soon he added.

          Speaking on the occasion Chief Minister lauded the work of Railway Minister and said, double trekking of railway route from Karwar to Pernem may be taken on priority. He said Konkan Railway has playing vital role in the development of the state. If the attention of passengers diverted towards travelling by trains there will be lesser pressure on roads and help in reducing road accidents, he said.

          Deputy Chief Minister and Speaker also spoke on the occasion.

          Earlier Sanjay Gupta, CMD of Konkan Railway welcomed the guest.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge