Panaji: January 20, 2016. ….. As in the rest of the Country Republic Day will be celebrated in Goa on January 26, 2016 at 8.45 am. preparation for which are underway in the State. The main state level function will be held at Parade Ground, Campal Panaji where Governor Dr. (Smt) Mridula Sinha, will unfurl the national flag, take salute, review the parade and address the gathering.

The flag hoisting ceremony will be attended by Chief Minister Shri Laxmikant Parsekar, Dy. Speaker Shri Vishnu Surya Wagh, Cabinet Ministers, Leader of Opposition Shri Pratapsingh Rane, Judges of High Court, Ld. Advocate General, MP’s, MLA’s and other dignitaries. On the occasion the Governor will also present awards to those excelled in various fields.

On her arrival at the venue the Governor will be received by Chief Minister, Chief Secretary, Director General of Police and Flag Officer Commanding Goa Area and Station Commander (Army).

The highlight of the celebration will be Mass P.T. display, Mass Dance and Songs by Children from different educational institutions.

The flag hoisting ceremony will also be held at taluka headquarters at 8.45 am. Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly Shri Anant Shet, will hoist the national tri colour at Bicholim. Dy. Chief Minister Shri Francis D’Souza will hoist the national tri colour at Mapusa. At the District level function to be held at Margao Minister for Labour Shri Avertano Furtado will perform the flag hoisting ceremony. At Ponda, Minister for PWD Shri Ramkrishana Alias Sudin Dhavalikar will unfurl the national flag. Minister for Panchayat, Shri Rajendra Arlekar at Pernem, Minister for Power Shri Milind Naik, at Vasco, Minister for Sports Shri Ramesh Tawadkar, at Canacona, Dr. Pramod Sawant MLA at Valpoi, Shri Subhash Faldesai, MLA at Sanguem, Shri Nilesh Cabral, MLA at Quepem, and Shri Ganesh Gaonkar, MLA at Dharbandora will perform the flag hoisting ceremony.

The Governor of Goa will host a reception at Raj Bhavan, Dona Paula at 5.15 pm on Republic Day.