Panaji: August 8, 2014 … Shri Om Prakash Kohli was sworn in as Governor of Goa at a simple ceremony held at Durbar Hall, Raj Bhavan, Dona Paula today.

Chief Justice of Bombay High Court Justice Mohit Shantilal Shah administered the oath of office to the new Governor. Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar was present on the occasion.

Shri Om Prakash Kohli, is the 18th Governor of Goa.

Shri Kohli who is Governor of Gujrat has been given additional charge of Goa. Shri Kohli held important positions in the past such as Member of Rajya Sabha from 1994 – 2000, was also Chairman of Housing Committee, Rajya Sabha. He was member of standing committee on Urban and Rural Development and also member of Standing Committee on Finance.  

 Chief Secretary Shri B. Vijayan read out the warrant of appointment issued by the President Shri Pranab Mukharjee.

Besides Chief Minister, the swearing in ceremony was attended by Deputy Chief Minister Shri Francis D’Souza, Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly Shri Rajendra Arlekar, Deputy Speaker Anant Shet, Opposition Leader Shri Pratapsingh Rane, Ministers, MLA’s Secretaries to Government, Director General of Police and others were present.

A Guard of Honour by the police contingent followed the swearing in ceremony.