9th Goa State Film Festival award ceremony will be held on Sunday


Panaji: 5th May 2018 :::: The 9th Goa State Film Festival award ceremony will be held today, Sunday 6th May 2018 at 5.00pm at INOX, Screen 1 in the presence of Shri. Shripad Naik, Union Minister of State for AYUSH, Shri. Vijai Sardesai, Hon’ble minister for Town & Country Planning, Shri. Pandurang Madkaikar, Hon’ble minister of Power, Shri. Vinod Palyekar, Hon’ble minister of Water Resources Department and Shri. Vinay Tendulkar, Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha).

The celebrities who will be present during the festival are Ms. Yami Gautam, actress, more popularly known for Vicky Donor, Kaabil, Sarkar 3. Mr. Sumeet Raghavan, Television, Marathi and Hindi film actor, known for his roles in Shubh Mangal Savadhan, Huddkardi and presently filming Bucket List with Ms. Madhuri Dixit. Ms. Pallavi Subhash, is an Indian film and soap actress. A Maharashtrian model turned actress has started her career with Marathi plays, films and TV Shows and then she has appeared in Hindi TV shows. She acted in various language films such as Telugu, Tamil, Malayalam and Kannada but in Sri Lankan language too. She is more popularly known for her role in Happy Journey and TV serial Ashoka Samrat. Ms. Mrinal Kulkarni, actress cum director known for Rama Madhav and Prem Mhanje Prem Mhanje Prem Asta. She has acted in films like Ye Re Ye Re Paisa, Yellow and many more. She is popularly known as ‘Son Pari’ and Mrs. Chinmayee Sumeet, actress, will be present for the award ceremony.

Lifetime achievement Awardee Shri. Suryakant Lavande was born in Pomburpa, Goa. He moved to Mumbai to pursue his passion for cinema and cinematography.  He started his career at the Filmistan studio in Goregaon and was fortunate to work under stalwarts like the Mistry brothers, Jaal and Fali who were associated with the films of Raj Kapoor, Chetan Anand, Dev Anand, Manmohan Desai and the likes. He worked with Jabbar Patel on the highly acclaimed Marathi film Samna (1974) which was nominated for the Golden Bear at the Berlin Film Festival. They teamed up again to deliver yet another landmark film, Sinhasan (1979) written by Vijay Tendulkar. He also worked with other popular directors as well including Sachin Pilgaonkar and Mahesh Kothare and some of films include Sasurvashin (1978), Gupchup gupchup (1983), Navri Mile Navryala (1984), Dhoomdhadaka (1985), Gammat Jammat (1987) and Kunku (1994).


The main highlights of the award ceremony are performance by Jasraj Joshi who has so far sung for Rustom, Time Please, Bedardi and other films. He is also winner of Zee Hindi Sa Re Ga Ma, Sonia Sirsat, renowned singer from Goa, comedy act by Ortencio Pereira from Goa and Imran Shaikh from Bangalore. There will also be dance performances by Siddhai Mumbai and Amit & Sakshi from Goa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge