Panaji, September 08, 2014 …. The Ministry of Social Justice and empowerment had instituted four Annual National Awards(one for each  Region) of an amount of Rs. 02.00 lakhs for Individual Human Rights Activists  and Rs. 05.00 lakhs  for Non-Governmental  Organizations (NGOs), for having  done outstanding fieldwork in the area of eradicating untouchability and in combating offences of atrocities against  Scheduled Castes.

The four regions comprise of North Region (Chhattisgarh,  Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chandigarh and Delhi), South (Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Lakshadweep and Puducherry), East (Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand,  Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, Odisha, West Bengal and Andaman and Nicobar Islands) and in West (Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu).

The Award is regulated by the Code of Procedure,  which can be downloaded from the Ministry’s Website

The proposals regarding nomination of the prospective awardees, with their  complete details like names of individuals/organizations, complete addresses of communication,  landline and mobile phone numbers, etc for the years 2010 to 2014 may kindly be furnished to the office of  Ministry latest by October 31, 2014.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge