Panaji:October 11,2015 …. The Chief Minister Shri Laxmikant Parsekar recently inaugurated a 4 day Asian Mycological Congress 2015  at  Dr. Shyama Prasad Mukharjee Stadium hall at Bambolim.

The function was organized by Department of Botany, Goa University in collaboration with Mycological Society of India and Asian Mycological Association.

The objective of the congress was to deliberate on the development of mycology, its education, research, innovations and services in countries and regions within Asia. The delegates of Mycological Societies of Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, Korea and others participated in the workshop.

Shri Parsekar speaking on the occasion said that the mycology has its origin in our old scriptures, The land of Goa is rich in biodiversity. The flora and fauna and number of species of microbes in fresh water sea water and terrestrial location are found which comprises as part of our ecology.

Shri Parsekar also said that, the four day congress will deliberate on various aspects mycology. The leading Mycologists from various countries of Asia who are participated in the conference will be a grand experience in teaching, learning, and sharing mycology.

Vice–Chancellor Goa University Dr. Satish Shetye  said that  the four day conference will help to exchange knowledge ,information of mycology and also will open new prospects for budding scientists, researchers. of mycology. He said Goa has a peculiar species of mushroom found in a particular season for which he hoped to extend the period of its availability with the help of technology.

Shri  Parsekar on this on   this occasion released Abstract Book of conference. and a Special Postal Cover brought out by Department of Post Government of India. Thereafter he inaugurated exhibition on Fungal Philately.

Prof.B.N.Joshi President of Mycology Society of India welcomed the guests. Prof. Chandralata Kumar gave introductory remarks.

Dr. Sarita Nazareth Head of the Department of Microbiology and Bio Chemestry compered the function Prof. Bernard proposed the vote of thanks.