Dempo Cricket Club earns 70 run victory over salgaocar sports club at GPL T-20 cricket tournament


19/03/2014 … A tremendous bowling effort by Dempo Cricket Club earned the defending champions a 70- run victory over Salgaocar Sports Club at the ongoing 5th Goa Professional League T20 cricket tournament organized by Goa Cricket Association at GCA ground, on Tuesday.

The teams had already qualified for the Super League but a win was essential for both to finish top in Group A.

The highlight of dempo’s victory was an inspiring half century by Saurav Dubey who showed his patience at the crease after the departure of his skipper swapnil asnodkar taking the team to a respectable total of 158 runs.

In reply, Salgaocar got off to a disastrous start as their first four batsmen Sagun Kamat, Suraj Dongre, Sayed Shahabuddin and Parvez Rasool returned to the dressing room on ducks.

Darshan Misal did provide some resistance with his 39 but that was not enough as The Greens could only manage to score 88.

Meanwhile the finals of Goa Premiere League T20 Cricket Tournament will be played on Saturday, March 22, at GCA ground, Porvorim, at 7 p. m. under flood lights.

Briefing press persons, Chaiman of GPL T20 organizing committee Shekhar Salker stated that the boundary limit for the league matches has been increased to 70 yards from the existing 67 yards.