Panaji: April 13, 2015 …. Deputy Chief Minister  Shri Francisco D’Souza who is also the President of Bharat Scouts and Guides-Goa State  has said that discipline is a major key to success. It is the ability to do what needs to  be done at the appropriate time in order to accomplish  the desired goals and therefore he said that the foremost duty of the schools and teachers is to teach discipline to their students.

He was speaking as the Chief Guest at the awards distribution ceremony organized by the Bharat Scouts and Guides, Goa State at Institute Menezes Braganza hall in Panjim today. 

Speaking further he lauded the Scouts and Guides for their dedicated services of rendering assistance to the old and handicapped devotees during the recently concluded Exposition. The deputy Chief Minister also urged upon the scouts and Guides to play a role in cleanliness of the surrounding in response to the call given by the Prime Minister on Swaech Bharat. He said that the students  not only can effectively work towards this drive but also educated the society on cleanliness.

The awards presented on the occasion comprised of Bob-a-Job Highest Earnings Awards for Scouts and Guides for highest earnings at the district and state level. Outstanding Unit awards, Adult leader awards who have put in long and dedicated service in the movement were presented.

State Treasurer Shri Rodney D’Souza was presented Silver star  National award for his dedicated services for the origination. Replying to the felicitations Shri Rodney thanked all those who have supported him in his endeavours.

Outstanding Unit Award 2015 were presented to Our Lady of Snow H/S-Raia, Salcete District; Adarsha V.V.H/S-Margao, Salcete District; Infant Jesus H/S-Colva, Salcete District; Basilite Open Unit Scouts & Guides-Majorda, Salcete District; Shree Bhagwati H/S-Pedne, Pedne District; Mahalaxmi H/S-Kudne-Bicholim District; Murgaon H/S-Headland Sada-Mourgaon, Marmagao District; Airway Public School-Vidyanagar, Sancoale, Marmagoa District; Regina Mundi H/S-Chicalim, Marmagoa District; St. Michael’s Convent H/S-Vagator-Anjuna, Bardez District; The Rosary H/S-Miramar-Panaji, Tiswadi District; Bal Bharati Vidyamandir-Raibandar, Tiswadi District; Dayanand H/S-Chorao-Tiswadi District and for Primary Section they were presented to Young Achievers Primary School-Alto Porvorim, Bardez District; St. Michael’s Convent Primary School-Vagator, Anjuna-Bardez District and Babyland Primary School-Candolim-Bardez District.

        The Adult Leader felicitated on the occasion were Tiswadi District: S. M. Mr. Krishna Naguesh Alavai and G.C.Deepali A. Savant, Bal Bharati Vidyamandir, Raibandar.  Salcette District: G.C. Sr. Fatima Fernandes-Maria Bambina Convent H/S-Cuncolim, Salcete District, Bardez District: S.M.Cajitan Vaz and G.C. Pushpa Ankalgi, Chubby Cheeks Spring Valley H/S-Pilerne.  Quepem/Sanguem District: S.M.Vilas Vithal Raut Desai and G.C.Ashwini A. Naik, Smt. Chandrabhaga Tukoba Naik H/S-Curchorem.  Pedne District: S.M. Suhas Prakash Achrekar, Peter Alvares Memorial H/S-Morjim, Pedne.  Ponda District: J.S.M. Tulsidas Verrekar-Barabhumi H/S-Tambdi Surla, Ponda District and G.C. Minal Hasabanis- Dr. Sakharam Gude H/S Vazangal, Shiroda.

 Smt. Elizabeth Mascarenhas welcomed and introduced the Chief Guest, Senior Vice President  Dr Sydney Pinto Do Rosario and Vice President Dr. Meenacsi Martins were present on the occasion, STC(S) Shri Diogo Fernandes, STC (G) Elizabeth Mascarenhas , ASOC Shri Yeshwant Sinari, Joint Secretary, Smt. Shoba Mhadgut and others were also present. Earlier State Commissioner (S) Adv. Vinayak Narvenkar introduced the state treasurer Shri Rodney D’ Souza. State Secretary, Shri   James Fernandes gave a brief report of activities.

 The  Cubs and Bulbuls of Babylan Primary School —– presented welcome song.