Panaji:  December 13, 2019 … Chief Minister, Dr Pramod Sawant inaugurated Lokotsav 20 organised by Adarsh Yuva Sangh, Gaondongri, Khotigao and Shree Balram Shikshan Saunstha, Amone, Paingin, Canacona in association with Directorate of Art and Culture at Amone, Canacona recently.

The two days event is supported by Directorate of Tribal Welfare and National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr Sawant said continuity is very important in any organization and applauded the efforts of organisers for organising such a beautiful event from the last 20 years successfully. Lokotsav festival, he said is not limited to the State as it attracts the people from the neighbouring States. Lokotsav is a festival for the people by the people, he pointed.

Recalling the efforts and initiatives taken by Ex CM late Shri Manohar Parrikar for bringing the tribals and rural people in the main stream, Shri Sawant applauded the work of Adarsh Yuva Sangh and Shri Balram Shikshan Saunshtha in the field of education in the remote areas. This institutions builds the students not only in education but also in sport, art and culture he said. He said collective efforts are required to take the State to the next level.  One should not keep culture aside while doing progress he said.

Appealing to the people to take up agriculture as profession Shri Sawant said Agriculture field is also a culture and base of the State. Shri Sawant also spoke about the IT Policy of the State and urged the youth to derive benefit of the policy and EDC incubation center.

Chairperson, Canacona Municipal Council, Smt Nitu Dessai said Lokotsav is a stage for local artist to showcase their varied talent in art and other qualities.

Zilla Panchayat Member, Dr Pushpa Ayya and Shanu Velip; Sarpanch, Village Panchayat Khotigao, Smt Suman Gaonkar and others were present on the occasion.

Dr Shivanand Bandekar, Smt Kamlini Painginkar, Dr Shekhar Salkar, Dr Rupa Chari, Smt Sulakshana Sawant, Smt Kamakshi Pai, Shri Arvind Tengse, Smt Kunda Chodankar, Smt Krushni Walke, Smt Sunita Sawant, Smt Chanda Dessai, Smt Vinda Satarkar, Dr Sucheta Naik, Smt Manuja Naik Gaonkar, Smt Pallavi Shirodkar were felicitated on the occasion.

Ex Minister and President, Adarsh Yuva Sangh, Shri Ramesh Tawadkar welcomed while Shri Ashok Gaonkar proposed the vote of thanks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge