Panaji, December 22, 2012 … The Deputy Chief Minister Shri Francisco D’ Souza  conferred  4th Corporate  Social  Responsibility  Dolphin Spotting in Goa Award  on  St. Francis Xavier Training Centre and Matruchaya  Trust  at the function  held in the  city yesterday.

The awards were received by Sister Monica and  Shri Madhukar Dixit  respectively at the hands of Shri D’ Souza.  The function was organized  by  Green Triangle  Society  in association with  Goa Chamber of Commerce  and Industry  and  Ideaz Unlimited.

The other cooperate bodies who received  CSR awards  includes  Seza Mining Corporation  for their   work  in the field of education. The Peninsula  lands  limited was awarded for its  work in the  field of  environment and Syngenta  India Limited for its  services  in community  social welfare.  The representatives of these corporate bodies  received  the awards  at the hands of   the Minister  Shri  Francis D’ Souza.

Speaking on the occasion Shri D’ Souza congratulated the recipients of the awards for their work towards society.  He said that the different components of the society like orphans and differently abled children should  be provided due attention.  There are many NGOs working in this field. The corporate sectors can also lend their hands in this task  he added.

Shri K.R. Srinivas, Resident Editor of Times of India said that after the Independence the disparity between the rich and poor has been widened. Hence the corporate sector has  greater role to play in this field. The work of Green Triangle Society in this area is a laudable. He also congratulated the winners of the awards.

Shri Kiran Shah, Chairman Ideaz Unlimited, Sister Monica and Shri Madhukar Dixit also spoke on the occasion.

Last year’s winner in the category of large scale industry M/s. Zuari Agro Chemical Industries was given a memento of remembrance.

Shri Mangurish Pai Raikar Chairman GCCI welcomed. Shri Anand  Pangam compered the function while Shri S.M. Paranjape Chief Inspector  of Factories and Boilers  proposed the vote of thanks.