Panaji, June 01, 2018  …  The Entertainment Society of Goa (ESG), Department of Public Health Dentistry and Goa Dental College, Bambolim organized 2nd Anti Tobacco Film Festival-Ad and Short Film Making Competition 2018. The Prize distribution ceremony of this competition was held at the Amphitheatre of ESG, recently on the occasion of ‘No Tobacco Day’.

Secretary for Health Shri. Ashok Kumar, IAS was the Chief Guest for the function. Vice Chairman of ESG Shri. Rajendra Talak, Dean of Goa Dental College, Bambolim Dr. Ida de Noronha de Athaide, Prof Dr. Amita Kenkre Kamat were present on the occasion.

The program began with distributing the participation certificates to the participants. Speaking on the occasion Shri. Ashok Kumar IAS appreciated the organizers and participants of the competition.  “Recent research has shown that such small advertisements and films have a far-reaching impact on the mind of a smoker. These ads and films make them realize the ill effects of smoking and make them alert. It is worth spending on such activities as it has a bigger impact on the society,” he opined. He urged the filmmakers to make innovative, creative and catchy films to attract more attention of people and spread awareness.

The competition which was held at State and Nation level got 42 entries in both Ad and Short Filmmaking. The jury team comprised of Deputy Director of Public Health Dr. Jose D’sa, Oncologist Dr. Shekhar Salkar, Lt. Col. Dr. Parag Prabhudessai, Shri. Dharmanand Vernekar and Shri. Sangram Singh Gaikwad- filmmakers and Shri. Sachin Chate, film critic.

The prize winners are as follows: Special Jury Award Category (Ad Film) ‘Editing Kills’ by Fish, Curry, Rice Productions and ‘Society’ by Shri. Hirnesh Adarkar. Special Jury Award Category (Short Film): Shri. Alton Boston Coutinho and ‘Mr. Pichik-the spitter’ by Shri. Rajesh Karekar.

Ad Film Making (State level): 1st prize- ‘Tobacco kills all’ by Shri. Ramprasad Adpaikar and 2nd prize- ‘Checkmate’ by Kum. Chaitra Sandesh Dessai. The winners were given a certificate and cash prize. There were no prizes awarded to Short Films at the state level.

 Ad Film Making (National level): 1st prize- ‘Now, your home’ by Shri. Prasad Mahekar, 2nd prize- Shri. Anant Dhond. Short Filmmaking competition (National level): ‘Poorna’ by Shri. Viju Sanzgiri. The winner was awarded with certificate and cash prize. Other participants were given with participation certificate.

Earlier Shri. Talak gave the welcome address. Smt. Ridhima Gaonkar compered the function while Dr. Kenkre Kamat proposed the vote of thanks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge