November 14, 2017 … The Goa State Journalists Awards  will be presented on the occasion of National Press day, November 16, 2017. The selection was done under the Goa State Journalists Awards  Scheme by the Department of Information & Publicity, Government of Goa.

The Best Editor Award on National Integration and Communal Harmony has been bagged by Shri Paresh Prabhu, Editor  of Navprabha for his Editorial “Vishwallichi Muley”. The award in Rural reporting has been bagged by Shri Vivek Prabhu of Prudent Media for his TV report on Ambe Dhulay village.

The Award for Reporting in Public health and Hygiene has been bagged by Shri Shashwat Gupta Ray, Editor of Gomantak Times for his report, “ Listeria Occurrence more in shellfish than in fin fish. The award for  reporting with special reference to Women and Children/Social issues has been bagged by Shri Shamsunder Phadte of the Prudent for his report, “Kung-fu girl”.

In sports reporting Shri Anthony Marcus Mergulhao of the Times of India bagged the award for his Article, “Beginning of the end”. The award on reporting on Art and Culture has been bagged  by Shri Shashwat Gupta Ray, Editor of Gomantak Times for his article, “View the history of Indian Cinema through with  the lenses of past”. The award in Photo-journalism (Best Photograph of the year is bagged by Shri Ganesh Shetkar lensman of the Lokmat, for his picture about a differently abled tourist on a wheel chair on a beach.

The awards were finalised by the State awards screening committee headed by Shri Gurudas Sawal and comprising of members Shri Pramod Khandeparkar, Shri Satish Naik, Shri Willy Goes and Shri Gurunath Pai. Shri John Aguiar is the Member Secretary of the Committee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge