Goan Reporter News: Aishwary Tomar adds 10m Air Rifle gold, Pradnya Gaikwad and Sanika Jadhav clinch bronze in Artistic Pairs for Goa


Olympian Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar of Madhya Pradesh completed a grand double on the final day of 37th National Games by adding the 10m Air Rifle gold to his 50m Rifle 3-position triumph while table toppers Maharashtra added five more gold medals to their tally and hosts Goa signed off with a bronze in Yogasana.

Goa’s Pradnya Gaikwad and Sanika Jadhav scored a total of 106.3 points to finish behind winners Maharashtra and silver medallist Haryana in Artistic Pairs event to take the state’s total to 92 medals, including 27 gold, 27 silver and 39 bronze. The hosts are assured of ninth place in the medal standings.

At the time of writing, Maharashtra had an unassailable lead in the medals tally with 80 gold, 68 silver and 79 bronze for an aggregate medal count of 227, adding three gold from Yogasana and one from shooting on the final day. Services were second with 66 gold, 27 silver and 33 bronze while Haryana are in third spot with 59 gold, 54 silver and 73 bronze.

At the Yash Shooting Academy range, Manderem, Tomar came up with shots of 10.6 and 10.4 under pressure in the final series to pip Services Sports Control Board’s Sandeep Singh by just .3 points. The MP shooter was trailing by .3 points going into the final two shots but underlined his position as one of the top rifle shooters in the country to finish with a total score of 250.7 in the final. Sandeep scored 250.4 for his silver winning effort while Uttar Pradesh’s Pratham Bhadana took bronze with a score of 250.4.

Maharashtra’s Abidnya Patil extended the table-toppers gold medal count by winning the women 25m Pistol crown with a comfortable margin of 5 points. Simranpreet Kaur of Punjab took silver with 30 points while Payal of Haryana won the bronze with a score of 28 points.

In the women’s trap final, Punjab’s Rajeshwari Kumari took the gold medal with a score of 44 points with Uttar Pradesh’s Sabina Haris taking the silver with a score of 43 points. Aashima Ahlawat of Haryana finished with bronze.

Earlier in the morning, Punjab’s Harveer Singh took the gold in men’s Road Race while Monika Jat led Rajasthan’s 1-2 in women’s individual Time Trial at Verna with Kavita Siyag taking the silver medal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge