Goan Reporter News: CM Dr. Pramod Sawan attends Teacher’s Day celebration at Durball Hall


The Directorate of Education commenced the 62nd State-Level Teacher’s Day celebration with the lighting of the lamp by Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant at Durball Hall, Dona Paula. This annual event, which honors the birth anniversary of the esteemed Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, commenced with Chief Minister Sawant garlanding a portrait of Dr. Radhakrishnan in tribute.

During the event, Chief Minister Sawant made significant announcements that the government is set to launch the Vidya Samiksha Kendra, a comprehensive monitoring system for students and teachers across the state. The Government aims to ensure no school is understaffed in days to come, he added. Chief Minister Sawant emphasized the pivotal role teacher’s play in shaping the young generation and guiding the students towards their successful careers. Furthermore, the government is actively working to provide options for both pass as well as fail students, expanding their scope and opportunities. An example of this commitment is the introduction of the Hospitality subject in all ITIs across the state, He pointed.

Shri. Prasad Lolayekar, IAS, Secretary of Education, shared that all laboratories of State Council of Educational Research and Training (SCERT) will soon be established under the Indian Institute of Science. Providing quality education to every student in Goa is the government’s vision, he added.

The MOU was signed between Goa State Higher Education Council (GSHEC), Directorate of Higher Education (DHE), and Satkaam Foundation. This collaboration aims to enhance students’ learning experiences by focusing on complementary topics, key concepts, case studies, and methods that will benefit them in the future.

Chief Minister Sawant recognized the exemplary service and contributions of eight outstanding teachers in Goa by awarding them the Chief Minister’s Vashistha Guru Puraskar 2023. These teachers are, from Primary Teacher Category- Smt. Harshita Harischchandra Naik, Govt. Primary Teacher, Govt. Primary School, Chonsai, Parse, Pernem; Smt Soniya Sanjay Mangaonkar, Govt. Primary Teacher, Government Primary School, A. V. Lourenco, Margao Goa; from Secondary Teacher Category- Shri Premanand Kumu Naik, Physical Education Teacher, Keshav Seva Sadhana’s School for Special Children, Sarvan, Bicholim; Smt Antonet De Sousa, Our Lady of the Rosary High School, Dona Paula; Smt. Umeshi D. F. Dessai, Assistant Teacher, Government High School, Fatarpa, Quepem Goa; for Headmaster Category Dr. Nita Ganapati Salunke, Headmistress, L.D. Samant Memorial High School, Vidyanagar, Parvari, Bardez; Smt. Suchitra Rajeev Desai 25 years Headmistress, Popular High School, Comba, Margao and for Higher Secondary Teacher Category- Shri Datta Parab, Teacher Gr. I, Shree Shantadurga Higher Secondary School, Pirna, Bardez.

Shri. Prasad Lolayekar, IAS, Secretary of Education, felicitated the Assistant District Educational Inspectors (ADEIs) from Bardez, Sattari, and Bicholim for their exceptional efforts in collecting Teachers Welfare Fund.

The event also featured video clips of the award-winning teachers expressing their gratitude and feelings.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge