Panaji: August 8, 2019 ….Independence Day will be celebrated in the State as in other parts of country on August 15, 2019. The main function will be held in front of Old Secretariat, Panaji at 9.15 a.m. Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant will unfurled the National Flag, inspect the guard of honour and later address the people of the State. On the occasion the Chief Minister will also present awards to those who have excelled in varied fields.

The function will be attended by Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly Shri. Rajesh Patnekar, Cabinet Ministers, Leader of Oppostion Shri Digamber Kamat, Judges of High Court, Advocate General and other dignitaries.

On his arrival at the venue of the function the Chief Minister will be received by Minister for Revenue Smt. Jenifer Monseratte, Chief Secretary Shri Parimal Rai and DGP Shri. Pranab Nanda.

Raj Bhavan, Dona Paula, Old Secretariat building and Directorates of Accounts building at Panaji, New Secretariat and Legislative Assembly Complex at Porvorim will be illuminated on the nights of  August14 and 15, 2019 .

The Directorate of Sports and Youth Affairs will organize Prabhat Pheries on August 15, 2019 involving children and citizens who will participate separately. It will also organize cycle races and marathon races after the function for children and citizens. The students of Bal Bhavan will present patriotic song.

The flag hoisting ceremony have also been planned at district level and at various talukas headquarters at 9.15 a.m. Minister for Water Resource Shri Philip Neri Rodrigues will perform flag hoisting ceremony at Margao. Whereas  Minister for Art and Culture Shri Govind Gaude will unfurl National tri colour at Ponda.  At Mapusa the flag hoisting ceremony will be performed by Minister for Science and Technology Shri. Michael Lobo. Shri. Pravin Zantye, MLA will hoist National flag at Bicholim. Deputy Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly Shri. Isidore Fernandes will hoist the flag at Canacona, Minister for Transport Shri. Mauvin Godinho will unfurl tri colour at Vasco. Deputy Chief Minister Shri. Manohar Azgaonkar will perform flag hoisting ceremony at Pernem.  At Valpoi flag hoisting will be performed by Deputy Collector, Sattari. Deputy Chief Minister Shri. Chandrakant Kavlekar will unfurl tri colour at Quepem, Minister for Public Works Shri. Deepak Pauskar will perform flag hoisting ceremony at Dharbandora  and at Sanguem flag hoisting ceremony will be held at the hands of Minister for Power Shri. Nilesh Cabral.

             Later in the evening the Governor of Goa Dr.(Smt) Mridula Sinha will host State reception at Raj Bhavan, Dona Paula on August 15, 2019 at 5.15 pm.

            The function at the Martyrs Memorial at Patradevi Pernem will be held at 11.30 a.m where Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant along with freedom fighters and other dignitaries will lay wreath at Martyrs Memorial.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge