panaji: November 16, 2015 … The Chief Minister, Shri Laxmikant Parsekar has said that media being the fourth pillar of the democracy has a significant role to play on behalf of the society. As like the elected representatives of the society, media too represent the society.

Shri Parsekar was speaking as Chief Guest at the celebration of National Press Day held at Miramar recently being organized by the Department of Information and Publicity in collaboration with Goa Editors Guild, Goa Union of Journalists Association, Photo Journalists Association Goa, Electronic Media Journalists Association, Sports Journalists Association of Goa and South Goa Journalists Association.  Adv. Cleofato Almeida Coutinho was the keynote speaker on the occasion.

Shri Parsekar speaking further said that there is no question of denying the fact of the constructive and significant role played by the media in socio-economic development of the State. It is the media that aims for the existence of social ethical values in the society and pointed that those who are in this field have to adhere to the values of ethics, character, and clean image thereby maintaining the credibility of journalism.  The Government and media can work together in the greater interest of the society, he added.

 Adv. Cleofato Almeida Coutinho, in his keynote address exhorted that there is a drastic change in media and intelligentsia right from 1972 till today in regards of its role and vitality but it has also a positive side and therefore the role of media cannot be ignored. He said there are certain restrictions on media but can be instrumental in establishing idealism in the society he added.

 The Chief Minister also handed over Laptops to 22 working journalists under the Goa Scheme for Purchase of Computer/Laptop/Camera to Journlaists.

 Senior Journalists such as Shri Prasanna Shirodkar, Chief Sub-Editor, Gomantak Times; Shri Sandesh PrabhuDesai, Editor,; Shri Prakash Kamat, Spl. Correspondent, The Hindu and Shri Sanjiv Verenkar, Chief Reporter of Daily Navaprabha, were felicitated at the hands of Chief Minister Shri Parsekar for their lifelong services and contribution in the field of journalism.

 The Chief Minister Shri Parsekar also handed over prizes to the winners of all Goa Photo Contest organized by this Department and the theme of the contest was  Exploring the unknown locations. The winners of the contest were Shri Nirmal Kulkarni, Shri Madhav A. Swar, Shri Rajtilak Naik  who bagged the first, second and third prizes respectively. While Shri Ajay Patil, Shri Upendra Naik, Shri Chandan Gaonkar, Shri Vaibhav Bhagat, Shri Harshad Swar won the consolation prizes. Where as in the second category the theme of the contest was Goa marching towards Advanced state.The winners of this category are Shri Rajtilak Naik,Shri Nirmal Kulkarni,Shri Amey Simepurushkar won first second and third prizes respectively. Whereas the consolation prize winners were.  Shri Dattaprasad Naik, ShriUpendra Naik,Pawankumar Mahindrakar, Shri Saneh Surya Phadte and Shri Sagun Gawade.  

 There after Shri Sandesh Prabhu Desai Senior Journalist. Dr. Gomes, Cartoonist, Shri Prakash Kamat, Spl. Correspondent, The Hindu, Shri Alexy Fernandes Cartoonist participated in Panel discussion on the topic “The impact and import of Cartooning and Caricature as a Medium of Expression of Opinion. 

Shri Atish Naik Secretary GUJ, Shri Ramakant Talkar Jt. Director Dept. Information and Publicity, Shri Arvind Bugde Former Director Dept. Information and Publicity, Shri Roland Martins, convenor GOA CAN, other senior journalists from the media fraternity were among those who present at the function.

Shri Jayant Tari ,Director  Dept. Information and Publicity welcomed the guests. 

Shri Shyam Naik ,Information Assistant compared the function.