Panaji, August 12, 2014 …. Preparations are in full swing in Goa to celebrate the Independence Day on August  15, 2014. To mark the Independence Day Celebration various programmes will be held in the State. The main State level  function will be held infront of Old  Secretariat, Panaji at 9:15 a.m.  where  Chief Minister Shri Manohar Parrikar  will unfurl the national Tri-Colour,  inspect  the guard of honour and address  the people. He will also present  awards to those who have contributed  and excelled in different fields. On his arrival at the venue the Chief Minister will be received by Minister for Health Shri Laximikant Parsekar, Chief Secretary Shri B. Vijayan and Shri T.N. Mohan, Director General  of Police.

The Independence Day Celebration  will also  be attended  by Dy. Chief Minister Shri Francis D’ Souza, Speaker Shri Rajendra Arlekar, Cabinet  Ministers, Leader of Opposition Shri Pratapsingh Rane, Dy. Speaker Shri Anant Shet, MPs, MLAs, Judges of High Court and other dignitaries.

As part of the Celebration the Raj Bhavan, Dona Paula, Old Secretariat Building and Directorate of Accounts Building at Panaji and New Secretariat at Porvorim will be illuminated on  the nights of August 14 and 15, 2014. The Directorate of Sports and Youth Affairs will organize Prabhat Pheries  on August 15, 2014 involving children and citizens. It will also organize cycle  races and marathon  races after the function for children and citizens. Governor of Goa  Shri Om Prakash Kohli will host  a State Reception at Raj Bhavan at 1:00 p.m. on August 15, 2014.

Several programmes  have also been planned to celebrate Independence Day at District and taluka level. The  flag hoisting  ceremony at Margao will be performed by Minister for Labour and Employment, Fisheries Shri Avertano Furtado at 9:15 a.m. infront of the South Goa Collectorate Building Margao (Mathany Saldanha Administrative Complex).

The flag hoisting ceremony at Ponda would be performed by Minister for Public Works, Transport and River Navigation Shri Ramkrishna alias Sudin Dhavalikar at 9:15 a.m.  at Kranti Maidan, Ponda.  Minister for Power Shri Milind Naik will hoist national flag at Tilak Maidan, Vasco at 9:15 a.m.

The Independence Day function in Mapusa, Quepem, Bicholim, Pernem, Canacona, Dharbandora, Valpoi and Sanguem  will be organized by respective Sub-Divisional Officers(Dy. Collector/Mamlatdars).

A function will also be held at the Martyr’s Memorial at Patradevi  at 11:30 a.m. on  August 15, 2014 where the Chief Minister will lay wreath at the Marty’s Memorial.

Besides the Chief Minister  the function will be attended by Speaker Shri Rajendra Arlekar, Minister for Health Shri Laximikant Parsekar, Shri Shyam Sundar Nagvekar, President of Goa, Daman  and Diu Freedom Fighters Association Panaji, Shri Chandrakant Kenkre, President of Freedom Fighters Association Goa, Ponda who will lay wreaths at  Marty’s Memorial and address the people on the occasion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge