Panaji: September 08, 2018 …. The Election Commission has been constantly endeavoring to improve the fidelity of electoral rolls with focused efforts for maximization of registration of eligible electors and removing the impurities in the rolls drive for which is already underway since September 1, 2018.

This year, the Commission has decided to utilise the period of continuous updation, for maximisation of enrolment of eligible young electors, particularly in the 18-19 age group, by launching a Special Drive in all States.

The Special Drive will begin on September 09, 2018 and will be completed by October  31, 2018.

The Election Commission has made available the Electoral Rolls for scrutiny for the members of the public from 01-09-2018 (Saturday) till 31-10-2018 (Wednesday) in the premises of the respective Polling Stations where last election for Parliamentary Constituencies and Assembly Constituencies were held. The Electoral Rolls are also available for scrutiny in the Offices of the concerned Deputy Collectors and Electoral Registration Officers of Pernem, Bicholim, Mapusa, Panaji, Ponda, Margao, Vasco-da-Gama, Quepem, Dharbandora and Canacona and also in the Offices of all the Mamlatdars/Joint Mamlatdars/Assistant Electoral Registration Officers in the State of Goa.

All Indian citizens who are entitled to be included in the Electoral Rolls are requested to scrutinize the Draft Electoral Rolls and in case their names do not figure in the said Draft Electoral Rolls and those who may have attained the age of 18 years of age as on 01-01-2019 as qualifying date are requested to get their names included in the Electoral Rolls in accordance with the procedure stated below.

As required under Rules 13 and 14 of the Registration of Electors Rules, 1960, all claims and objections for inclusion of names or objections to the particulars in entries in the Electoral Rolls should be made in Forms 6, 6A, 7, 8 and 8A, as the case may be and should either be presented to the concerned Electoral Registration Officers, Assistant Electoral Registration Officers or to such other officials as may be designated in this behalf, by due date.

The Electoral Registration Officers have also appointed Designated Officers at the respective Polling Stations.  The above claims and objections in prescribed forms 6, 6A, 7, 8 and 8A, as the case may be, duly completed will be accepted from 01-09-2018 (Saturday) till 31-10-2018 (Wednesday) in the above-mentioned offices of EROs and AEROs and by the Booth Level Officers appointed for the purpose, at the respective Polling Stations.

          All claims and objections received upto 31-10-2018 will be duly considered and disposed off by the concerned Electoral Registration Officers in accordance with the Registration of Electors Rules, 1960.

The Public in general and the Political Parties in particular are requested to scrutinize the said Draft Electoral Rolls and to take steps to get names included or corrected, for which the time limit is upto 31-10-2018 (Wednesday).

The Election Commission has also informed the General public that to enrol as new voter  apply online on www.nvsp.in or visit ERO at nearest taluka mamlatdar office or polling station on special campaign day on September 09, 2018 and October 07, 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge