Panaji: March 27, 2017 … The Governor of Goa Dr. (Smt.) Mridula Sinha flagged off  Yogathan 2017, a run for yoga, and threw  open 3 days Yoga Mahotsav at a function held in the city today. The event was organized by Yog Bharati Goa and was sponsored by the Ministry of Ayush Government of India. The Minister of State for AYUSH, Shri Shipad Naik and MLA Panaji Shri Siddharth Kuncalienkar were among those who were present at the function.

The Governor felicitated young Yogi Kumar:  Pankaj Sainekar who is to perform3000 thousand Suryanamaskars for Asia Book of Records in this festival tomorrow on March 26. To mark the celebration several activities have been planned such as lecture on yoga, demonstration, performing of yoga etc.

Dr. Sinha speaking on the occasion said that the Yoga is the legacy of India for the world which has great significance life. Yoga help to keep our mind,   body sound and healthy. It help to purify our mind by extracting vices from our mind enhancing long life.

The Minister of State for AYUSH Shri Shripad Naik in his address emphasized the importance of Yoga for human life. The Ayush Ministry he said is celebrating this event primarily in 10 States to commemorate International Yoga Day. The art of Yoga is ancient which helps to keep our body healthy and happy increasing longevity of life, he added.

MLA Panaji Shri Siddharth also spoke on the occasion.

The winners of Yogathon 2017 are Ajay Vishwakarma, Mapusa, Rahulkumar 6TTR.  Ponda, Pradhyumn Naik Mapusa, who have stood first, second and third respectively. Whereas the Ravinder, Mahinder Yadav, Tushar Khalkar, Satyavrat, and Pankaj Gupta all of 6TTR Ponda won consolation prizes. The winners of special prizes for female participants were won by Supriya Gaonkar, Visha Duloji both of PTS Valpoi  and Ankita Palekar Taleigao etc.

Shri Vishwas Korgaonkar, Prabhari Yog Bharati Goa ,  Shri Pandurang Ghate, Chief of Yog Bharati Goa, Shri Pritesh Desai, Secretary organizing Committee were present on the occasion .

Shri Sushant Tandel compered the function. Whereas Smt.Pooja Salgaonkar proposed the vote of thanks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge